Press "Enter" to skip to content

About us

fr Philippe Maillard
fr Philippe Maillard op.

Living in a working class area

In 1978, Philippe Maillard, a dominican friar, decided to make an old dream come true : to live his dominican life among the poor. He settled then in the Moulins area in Lille. He was soon joined by friars Michel Froidure and Jean-Pierre Mérimée.

The birth of a community

Then, a few local people began to get in touch with the friars. This small society spontaneously started to meet and pray every Wednesday evening. Relationships began to develop and other yearnings rose. The friars then decided to suggest new spiritual, cultural or plainly friendly activities. A few years later, the most involved people got together to initiate a small leading team. Since then, this team have been taking an active part with the friars, in the liveliness of house.

The “Maison du 60” today

Today, the 60 depends on the dominican convent in Lille. The friars Michel Froidure, Jean-Pierre Mérimée and Benoît Ente lead a dominican life of prayer, studies and proclaiming of the gospel. Every Wednesday evening, about 40 people gather for mass, and a meal is sometimes organised after service. There are monthly activities : impro theatre, pottery, bible studies, writing workshop, Rosary group, social approach from christian point of view. Other activities will be annual : trip to Lourdes in October with the Rosary pilgrimage, a spiritual retreat in May and finally summer vacations.

The spirit of the 60

For its 30th anniversery, the Maison du 60 defined itself as a school where people learn to live as brothers, in total equality, and with the priority option to share one’s life with the most deprived people. Our community is built up by the words of every member and their practical implementation, as a response to God’s Word celebrated in the Eucharist.

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Press "Enter" to skip to content

Qui sommes-nous ?

fr Philippe Maillard
fr.  Philippe Maillard

Habiter en milieu populaire

En 1978 le frère dominicain Philippe Maillard décide de réaliser son vieux rêve : vivre sa vie dominicaine avec les pauvres. Il s’installe alors à Lille dans le quartier de Moulins. Et rapidement les frères Michel Froidure et Jean-Pierre Mérimée le rejoignent.

Naissance d’une communauté

A ce moment là, quelques habitants du quartier se mettent à fréquenter les frères. Spontanément, ce petit monde prend l’habitude de se retrouver le mercredi soir pour prier. Les liens se tissent mais d’autres aspirations se font sentir. Les frères proposent alors de nouvelles activités spirituelles, culturelles ou simplement conviviales. Plusieurs années plus tard, les plus engagés se rassemblent pour former une équipe d’animation. Depuis, celle-ci travaille activement avec les frères aux activités de la Maison.

Le 60 aujourd’hui

Aujourd’hui, le 60 est une maison qui dépend du couvent des dominicains de Lille (une maison filiale). Les frères Michel Froidure, Jean-Pierre Mérimée et Benoît Ente y mènent une vie dominicaine faite de prière, d’étude et d’annonce de l’Evangile. Chaque mercredi soir, la messe rassemble environ 40 personnes et se prolonge parfois par un repas. Certaines activités sont mensuelles : théâtre d’improvisation, poterie, étude biblique, groupe d’écriture, équipe du Rosaire. D’autres sont des événements annuels : un départ à Lourdes en octobre avec le Pèlerinage du Rosaire, une retraite spirituelle en mai et des vacances pendant l’été.

L’Esprit du 60

L’année de ses 30 ans d’existence, la Maison du 60 s’est définie ainsi : Une école où l’on apprend à vivre en frère, à égalité, et dont la vie partagée avec les plus démunis est le choix prioritaire. Ce qui construit la communauté, c’est la parole de chacun et sa mise en pratique, en réponse à la Parole de Dieu célébrée dans l’Eucharistie.

Be First to Comment

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *